Institute for Imaging Science and Computational Modelling in Cardiovascular Medicine

In the early 19th century, the Berlin scientist Alexander von Humboldt (from Berlin) was one of the first researchers who had the leitmotiv to connect information with one another in order to generate knowledge. At our institute, we are pursuing this way of thinking, which has never been more important than at the times of digital transformation.

The Institute for Imaging Science and Computational Modelling in Cardiovascular Medicine is the innovation driver in the field of digital transformation in cardiac medicine in Berlin. The institute combines modern imaging methods with data science methods (AI, visual analysis, etc.) and biophysical modelling (hemodynamics, metabolism, etc.) to develop methods for diagnostics, therapy planning and decision support systems. The work is therefore always in a direct clinical context (bench-to-bedside) and unites interdisciplinary teams of physicians, mathematicians, computer scientists, physicists and engineers.

Our institute is divided into the following main research areas:

  1. Imaging science & image guided therapy with a focus on quantification & visualization
  2. Data science (data driven models & complex data analytics)
  3. Image processing with machine learning methods (e.g. segmentation for diagnostic applications)
  4. Simulations & modelling by physiology based models
  5. Development & application of experimental methods for the validation of numerical models

Our goal is to achieve a holistic system view of a patient's disease status (systems medicine) and to better tailor therapies to the individual needs of a patient (precision medicine).

For this purpose, we work with medical data that represent different biological scales (organ, tissue, cell) and originate from various data sources (imaging, clinical information, omics).

In the clinic, our methods are used in a variety of applications ranging from prevention to model-based therapy planning. Our work is carried out with a direct clinical reference and close connection to the cardiovascular clinics of the Charité and the German Heart Center Berlin.

The German Heart Center Berlin is also a close partner of the Institute and makes important contributions in the form of endowed professorships and equipment.

Institut für Kardiovaskuläre Computer-assistierte Medizin

Bereits im frühen 19. Jahrhundert war Alexander von Humboldt einer der ersten Forscher, der das Leitmotiv verfolgte Informationen miteinander zu verbinden um Wissen zu generieren. Diese Denkweise hat im Zeitalter der digitalen Transformation mehr Aktualität denn je und ist die Grundlage aller Arbeiten am Institut für Kardiovaskuläre Computer-assistierte Medizin.

Das Institut für Kardiovaskuläre Computer-assistierte Medizin ist in der Herzmedizin Berlin der Innovationstreiber im Bereich der digitalen Transformation. In dem Institut werden moderne Bildgebungsmethoden mit Verfahren des Data Science (KI, visuelle Analytik, etc.) und der biophysikalichen Modellierung (Hemodynamik, Stoffwechsel etc.) kombiniert um Methoden für Diagnostik, Therapieplanung und Entscheidungsunterstützungssysteme zu entwickeln. Die Arbeiten stehen daher immer in einem direkten klinischen Bezug (bench-to-bedside) und vereinen interdisziplinäre Teams von Ärzten, Mathematikern, Informatikern, Physikern und Ingenieuren.

Unser Institut ist in die folgenden Forschungsschwerpunkte gegliedert:

  1. Bildgebung & bildbasierte Therapieplanung mit Fokus auf Quantifizierung & Visualisierung
  2. Data science (datengestützte Modelle & komplexe Datenanalyse)
  3. Bildverarbeitung mit maschinellen Lernverfahren (z.B. Segmentierung zur diagnostischen Anwendung)
  4. Simulationen & Modellierung mit physiologiebasierten Modellen
  5. Entwicklung & Anwendung von experimentellen Verfahren zur Validierung von numerischen Modellen

Unser Ziel ist, eine ganzheitliche Systemsicht auf den Krankheitsstatus eines Patienten zu erlangen (systems medicine) und Therapien besser an den individuellen Bedürfnissen eines Patienten auszurichten (precision medicine).

Dafür arbeiten wir mit medizinischen Daten, die verschiedene biologischen Skalen (Organ, Gewebe, Zelle) repräsentieren und aus vielfältigen Datenquellen (Bildgebung, klinische Informationen, Omics) stammen.

In der Klinik finden unsere Methoden vielfältige Anwendungen die von der Prävention bis hin zur Modell basierten Therapieplanung reichen. Unsere Arbeiten erfolgen dabei mit einem direkten klinischen Bezug und enger Anbindung an die kardiovaskulären Kliniken der Charité und des Deutschen Herzzentrums Berlin.
 

Das Deutsche Herzzentrum Berlin ist zudem ein enger Partner des Instituts und leistet wichtige Beiträge in Form von Stiftungsprofessuren und Geräteausstattung.